Posted in Travelouge

AL Qudra Desert Hiking

There is some such places in Dubai where you find a perfect hideout from all noises and luxuries. Al Qudra lakes are one of such places where you can stay alone and hide out from all disturbances mentally and physically. It is a man made group of lakes located in the mid desert. For those who likes hiking camping and other outside activities Al Qudra is a good option to do. Also expense wise it’s much cheaper, only if you are ready to walk and have time to use public transport.

20181119_173237The trip was in my mind since last few months but didn’t able to make because of the lack of most important aspect for a journey “TIME”. But as always it’s better late than never I get a day leave on a public Holiday. After knowing this I start planning to make it happen. And there comes the next halt on the planning, its about the transportation? Al Qudra lakes are located in mid of Al Qudra deserts. If you need to get there you must have an own car either you need to rent it. Taxi rent per km is around 7 DHS in UAE and totally it will cost you around 250 dirhams for both sides if decide to take taxi. And I am already decide to make the trip alone and it will be in public transport or hitch hiking!

20181118_093026

After a long search I found one bus passing through this desert area and after getting down of the bus it need a 45 minutes of hike to reach entrance to the lakes. However climate was pretty good from November to Mid-March for hiking. Bus No 67 from Al Ghubaiba to Dubai endurance city is the bus which I traveled, it will take 90 minutes approximately to reach Dubai endurance city and we need to get down on the stop name “Seh as Salam Farm” which is only few stops before the final stop. The bus journey itself was a good experience there is not much peoples are travelling to this area. So the bus was almost quiet empty.

20181118_092317

20181118_092513

The morning was chilly and mist all-around desert altogether a pleasant atmosphere for do a morning walk after getting down of the bus. After a 50 odd minutes of hiking take me to the Al Qudra lakes entrance, where I found one board named it “Falcon Oasis”. There I seen only two big lakes having one bird watching tower and two black swans. But the silence on the shore Compel me to take a walk around the lakes. Spent almost a 15-20 minutes there and decided to move further, another 40 minute of hike through the desert finally guide me to the most beautiful view and  for which I have traveled!

20181118_080721

20181118_082408 “LOVE LAKE”- big Heart Shaped lake having wide range of migratory birds, swans and ducks, the only sound you hear from here was that of birds. And if you are lucky you can see hunter Falcons and other desert wild life’s also. Such a romantic atmosphere is created here make feel you it’s specially made for couples and I only found to be there alone. There I have spent almost 2 + hours more sitting alone on the shore and watching the rose beauties – flamingos those I like most. Black and white swans are roaming all around shores and in lakes. All these hours I missed myself and felt like I was in my dreamland. Many bird watchers & photographers are also there spending hours inside their cars and tents. Sun is getting much brighter and hot as the time runs. So I decide to say good bye to the love lakes and beautiful birds all around there.

20181119_172619

20181118_083427

The return hike through the desert brought me to the main road within an hour & from there luckily I able to got a hitch hike till the creek metro station from a Philippine couples and from there back to room. The simplest beautiful and cheapest hike I ever made. I had to spend only about fifteen dirham’s and eight hours for this hike. what i received back was wonderful memories and a beautiful hike.

Pictures – Samsung S8 – (After went to this place i missed my DSLR very much – but My S8 didn’t make me disappointed fully).

Author:

An Human Soul wandering this Earth !!

One thought on “AL Qudra Desert Hiking

Leave a comment